“Conquering Your Goliaths” by Kathryn Elizabeth Jones

“CONQUERING YOUR GOLIATHS”

A Parable of the Five Stones

David gathered five smooth stones to meet and defeat Goliath. What did these stones represent and how can you use them to conquer Goliaths in your own personal quests? Ms. Virginia Bean will show you how.

Travel with her on her own personal journey. See what she does. Learn how she grows. Discover what she becomes.

“Conquering your Goliaths—A Parable of the Five Stones” is for anyone desiring to travel beyond mediocrity, pain and fear. Learn of the great power within you, a power given to you from God, a power that must ultimately be unleashed to conquer the Goliaths in your own life. Come to an even deeper understanding of God and what he wants for you. Come…

When I was young I thought I had to sound like a great writer to be one. It was all so overwhelming; now I know I only need to sound like myself. My ideas come from two primary sources. My work might spark from the enlightening words of a friend, teacher or writing prompt. At other times, I am sitting in a very still space and the words I should write come to me like a powerful and glowing wind.

My favorite tool is the pen. Though computer keys get the words down quicker and easier, I like to put pen to paper, smell the ink, see the words as they are developed and renewed by new phrases or thoughts.

I enjoy traveling to wherever the character takes me. This often means even I am surprised and warmed at the outcome. In the end, when my writing is done, I like to watch the eyes of the reader whenever I can. Their reflective expression gives me the greatest glimpse into what my writing has become.

Endorsements:

“I loved this book! Kathy has created a jewel in Conquering Your Goliaths ~ A Parable of the Five Stones. I felt like I was on the journey right along with Ms. Virginia Bean the whole time. As she received each of the five stones, I could personally relate them to my own life and circumstance. It is definitely a book to be read and re-read as the wisdom is profound and the story is captivating.” –Stacy Harmer, Emotional Healing and Life Coach – LiveWell Coaching

“You will learn the powerful lessons of the five stones of David and be able to activate them in your own life. Learning and striving to overcome our Goliaths through this powerful message will bring love and light and strength into your life. I have collected my own stones to help remind me of the power I have when I am close God and allow Him to be a part of everything I do.” –Stephanie Knowlden, Poet & Writer

“Inspiring Story! Not only are the principles of conquering trials laid out in this book, but they are done within a beautiful and inspiring story that we all can relate to. I found myself inter-relating it with my own life. I was able to glean many precious gems of knowledge from its pages. It was simple to implement these wonderful “stones” into my own life.  A must read for anyone who wants to overcome anything!” –Tricia Leslie, Owner and Director Silhouette Ballroom Studios

My Review:

I consider Conquering Your Goliaths–A Parable of Five Stones, by Kathryn Elizabeth Jones, to be an allegorical story of the Christian life.  The book was slow in getting me into the story, but once the stones started appearing, I wanted to keep reading.  These spiritual truths are so vital to the Christian walk, and Kathryn puts the journey into a whole new perspective that is enlightening and yet very real to everyone’s life.

The story of salvation is told through the wine-press of the Old Testament.  It’s subtle, but the message is there. If you miss it, go back and re-read it.  It’s precious in its explanation.  It’s the necessary component to the messages of the five stones.

Kathryn uses David as the prime example in her story.  He slew Goliath with a stone, but he had to learn the principles behind the five stones before he become successful in his walk with God.  We subsequently become acquainted with the stones given by God–listening, trust, optimism, tenacity, and constancy–that are all in relation to God, His word, prayer, standing strong, and telling others.

Throughout the story we find that Ms. Virginia Bean becomes fearful, makes mistakes, gets angry at God, and even wants to give up at times.  Ms. Bean’s reactions were real  as our own reactions at times.   It made the story realistic in that way.  In Ms. Bean’s meetings with God, she finds the solutions to overcome.  It’s a process that lasts a lifetime, though hopefully we all grow in time if we faint not.    I felt the use of stones for each of the five areas of growth brought out the child-like faith necessary to follow the Lord.

I’m a little disappointed with ending, as life doesn’t always end up the way it does here.  But the main point is trusting God whatever way it turns out.  I’m glad this book came into my life at just this time, as it will help me through the difficult areas I am currently dealing with.  Lessons to walk out to grow spiritually.  Trusting God.

At the back of Kathryn’s book is A Spiritual Guide where God is talking to us personally on the five lessons.  It’s detailed and personal, and helps us remember what we learned in the book.   It will be a book I read more than one time, as a reminder of how to walk out these lessons in my own personal life.

This e-book was provided by the author, Kathryn Elizabeth Jones, in exchange for my honest review.  No monetary compensation was exchanged.

Please leave an opinion or comment for this post.

