“Deep Cover” by Sandra Orchard (Undercover Cops Series)

Published April 3, 2012 by One Desert Rose

UNDERCOVER COPS:  FIGHTING FOR JUSTICE

Book 1 of Undercover Cops Romantic Suspense SeriesMaintaining his cover cost undercover cop Rick Gray the woman he loved.  Sweet Ginny Bryson never really knew Rick-he never gave her the chance. Not then, and not now, when he’s back with a new alias to gather evidence against Ginny’s uncle. The man’s crimes led to Rick’s partner’s death, and Rick wants justice to be served. But his investigation is stirring up trouble, and Ginny is smack-dab in the middle. Someone wants Ginny to pay the price for what her uncle has done. But how can Rick protect her without blowing his cover, jeopardizing his assignment.and risking both their lives?


From a young age, I dreamed of being a writer, even as I majored in math at university. When the children were young, I took a writing course and wrote numerous reviews and articles for our homeschooling newsletter, but never pursued publication beyond that. Then following my mom’s death, I discovered Christian fiction. Seeing characters battle the same questions, yearnings and frustrations I battled, and triumph over them through God’s grace, restored my hope and rekindled my passion for writing.

So when my husband (out of desperation because of the books piling up around our house) suggested I write my own stories, little did he know where that off-handed remark would lead …

Six years and many much-revised novels later, my dreams have come true! The journey has been wonderful. I’ve had the privilege of working with many talented authors and aspiring writers who have enriched my stories and my life with their insights, suggestions, humor, and prayers. Oh, yes, and chocolate!

My husband and children continue to be my most enthusiastic encouragers. My youngest daughter Jennifer, a freelance writer and aspiring novelist herself, provides an understanding ear when writer’s block sets in, or rejections pile up. My eldest daughter, Christine, designs my web pages. She and my son Paul have even joined me at writers’ conferences. Best of all, they cheerfully help with household chores so that I have more time to write! I feel truly blessed to have a husband and children so supportive of my dreams.

Click here to read Chapter One

My Review:

Rick Gray, aka Duke Black, is an undercover cop trying to bring down the man responsible for his partner’s fiery death.  Little does he know that he will run into his old girlfriend in the process.

Ginny Bryson is the niece of Emile Laud, the man Duke is trying to catch and bring to justice, and Rick’s old girlfriend that he left fifteen months ago because he thought he needed to protect her.  Little did he know the pain he caused when he walked out of her life so abruptly.

In Deep Cover, by Sandra Orchard, we are thrust into the dangers and mysteries of the undercover world of a cop and tossed into the middle of the love/hate relationship between Rick and Ginny.  Despite all of Rick’s efforts to protect Ginny, she becomes caught up in the schemes of her uncle and is under suspicion of the police department.

Sandra’s story definitely intrigues you throughout the  numerous plots, twists and dangers in the investigation.  About the time you think you have the perpetrator identified, she tosses in another twist that throws you off-kilter.  From the first page to the last, the action and suspense is palpable.  Since I love the world of undercover cops, I was thoroughly engrossed in the details and circumstances.

Adding the romantic tension between Ginny and Rick was a fabulous way to not only expand the depth of the story, it brought out the true feelings and apprehensions of a touch-and-go romance.  Does Rick’s involvement with Ginny blind him from seeing the necessary evidence in proper perspective?  Sandra handles this aspect with the sensitivity of undercover operatives.

I enjoyed the characters of Ginny and Rick.  Their relationship was so sensitive and yet abruptly harsh.  Their faith is put to the test.  Lori, Ginny’s sister, will capture your heart.

For a good romance-inspired suspense, be sure to pick up Sandra’s book!

This book was provided by the author, Sandra Orchard, in exchange for my honest review.  No monetary compensation was exchanged.

For more on Deep Cover go to this site:  http://www.sandraorchard.com/Deep%20Cover%20Extras.html

2 comments on ““Deep Cover” by Sandra Orchard (Undercover Cops Series)

  • Please leave an opinion or comment for this post.

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 1,209 other followers

