“When the Smoke Clears” by Lynette Eason (A Revell Tour)

Infinite Suspense!  Welcome…to the edge of your seat!

About Lynette:

Lynette Eason is the author of several romantic suspense novels, including Too Close to Home, Don’t Look Back, and A Killer Among Us.

She is a member of American Fiction Christian Writers and Romance Writers of America.

A home schooling mother of two, she has a master’s degree in education from Converse College. She lives in South Carolina.


DEADLY REUNIONS–Book 1

Book Blurb:
As a member of the North Cascades Smokejumpers, Alexia Allen always takes care of the equipment that keeps her safe. So when she nearly dies in a fire due to equipment failure, she knows something is up. Ordered to take time off while the investigation continues, Alexia makes a last-minute decision to recuperate at her mother’s home and attend her high school reunion. Yet trouble seems to be following her, and within hours of arriving home she’s involved with murder, arson–and a handsome detective. But the conflicts ahead are nothing compared to the ghosts of her past. As she strives to remember and forgive her family history, she must also decide if the secret she’s been guarding for the last ten years must finally come to light.

Chock-full of the suspense and romantic tension readers have come to expect from Lynette Eason, When the Smoke Clears is the explosive first book in the Deadly Reunions series.

Excerpt: 

“Get out, Alexia. Now!”
“Got to check the closet first, sir.”
“Get your tail outta there. Immediately!”

She needed air. How had her
oxygen run out? She should have had
at least another five minutes. Reaching
up, she disconnected the hose from
her tank and shoved it up under her
heavy turnout. The coat would protect
her as much as possible from smoke
inhalation. And she wanted to minimize
the blast of hot air that would fill her
lungs. She caught a breath.

The dizziness receded.

The countdown was on. The decision:
leave or check the closet?

She scanned the imaging device over
the door. Bingo. “I’ve got something.Definitely a child.”
“Alexia! Get out!”
“She’s here, sir. Can’t leave without her.”

Alexia went to the door and turned the
knob. A little girl. The child looked up at
her, eyes wide, stark terror stamped on her
tear-streaked features. Then she coughed
and her eyes rolled back. Alexia slung the
imager over her shoulder and leaned in to
pick up the little girl.

Alexia took another breath and coughed.

Dizziness returned full force and she
went to one knee. Vaguely, she felt the
sweat roll down her back. “I’m in trouble,”
she said into her radio, keeping her cool,
refusing to panic. Help was just a second
away.  “Where’s RIT? No air.”

She pulled in a lungful of smoke this time.
Coughing, sputtering, she turned with the
child, frantic to get her out before the flames
caught up with the smoke.

And then the spots before her eyes
merged into one big black dot. Then nothing.  Source.

Endorsements:

“I love this book.  It will keep you guessing until the very end.”  Dee Henderson, best-selling author.

“The suspense is high; I was turning pages so fast I had to go back and re-read a time or two.”—Suspense Magazine on Don’t Look Back

“This plot-driven third entry in Eason’s series is sure to appeal to fans of romantic suspense as well as readers who like Joel C. Rosenberg and Ted Dekker.”—Library Journal on A Killer Among Us

• Readers will be on the edge of their seat as a female firefighter tries to keep a long-held secret in the face of threats on her life
• Readers of Brandilyn Collins will appreciate Eason’s intense style and Dee Henderson fans will love the romance
• Book 1 in an explosive new series from a bestselling author

Also available:  Women of Justice
1 Too Close to Home
978-0-8007-3369-8
2 Don’t Look Back
978-0-8007-3370-4
3 A Killer Among Us
978-0-8007-3371-1

My Review:

After an unauthorized, calculated call to rescue to small child in a fire, where Alexia Allen almost lost her life due to equipment failure, she decides to attend her ten-year class reunion and to recuperate at her mother’s home while that incident is under investigation and her job is under consideration.

Ten years earlier, the night Alexia graduated from high school, her friend, Jillian Carter, came running into the graduation dance with a haunted look on her face, out of breath, and mumbling that she saw something she shouldn’t have.  She immediately plunged through the back door, never to be heard from for almost ten years, leaving Alexia and Serena Hopkins aghast, wondering what Jillian saw.  Alexia left that night also, estranged from her family.

Since Alexia’s return to her mother’s house, her life has been in danger and considered a possible suspect in a murder/arson case.  She wonders if the equipment failure and the circumstances at home are possibly interrelated.

When the Smoke Clears, by Lynette Eason, is an explosive  suspense that includes murder, fires, stalking, sniper gunshots, kidnapping, secretive complicities, and one very handsome detective, Hunter Graham.  I consider Lynette’s book a thriller, with twists and plots that are forever being rearranged due to unknown, outside influences.  Lynette makes us privy to some of those secretive complicities, but not enough to understand the full scope.  Alexia and Hunter are unaware of these outside influences that are actually fueling their fears and anxieties, as there seems to be no safe place to hide her.

To ease the tension of the dangers that Alexia and Hunter find themselves in, Lynette throws in Graham Hunter’s mayoral candidacy dinner, Alexia’s attempts to reconcile with her mother, and a tensive romance trying to bud out from under the circumstances.   The ease of Hunter and Selena’s faith puts Alexia on edge.  What had God ever done for her?  Where was He when she needed him?  Surprises abound as the story evolves.

Lynette’s book had me pumped with all the action, suspense, and danger.  The characters’ interactions and relationships were real.  The tension was palpable during the high intense episodes.  This author knows how to create a moving story of suspense as well as interspersing the tenderness of the Lord’s interventions in unsuspecting places and people.  It’s natural and real.

My reaction at the end of the book:  “I just can’t believe I have to wait for the next book!”  When The Smoke Clears ends in an integrated fashion for a partial resolution, but it leaves you wanting more, more, and more, opening the door for a sequel!   Fantastic ride for a great suspense/thriller.  Fabulous writing from a superb author.  Lynette is one powerful, plot-twisting, heart-pounding writer!!

This book was provided by Donna Hausler, Publicity Assistant at Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for my honest review.  No monetary compensation was exchanged.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on ““When the Smoke Clears” by Lynette Eason (A Revell Tour)

  1. Hi! Thank you for sharing your reviews. I have also read “When the Smoke Clears” by Lynette Eason. I really enjoyed it, and I look forward to the next one! I will say that at one, brief point I was overwhelmed at the frequency of attempts made on the main character’s (Alexia) life within a span of three chapters. However, this did not affect my enjoyment of the overall story by any means. I would definitely recommend this book!

    I have also read her “Women of Justice” series. All of those were great as well. As with all of her books, the biggest appeal to me is that I can’t put the book down! Lynette Eason has an extremely high readability factor, and I always want to know what happens next. I think of the three “Women of Justice” series, I enjoyed “Don’t Look Back” the most.

    For those who love suspense/ romance, may I also suggest Dee Henderson’s, “O’Malley Series”. I wrote a recommendation on my blog because I enjoyed it so much.
    (http://ashleylynchharris.com/2012/06/23/dee-henderson-the-omalley-series/).

    Thanks for sharing and God bless!

    -Ashley

    • Lynette is one of my favorite writers. She’s got a punch to her writing that I love. I read all of Dee’s books way before I started blogging. I need to pick up her newer books. Thanks for following my blog and commenting. You have a lovely site! I’m now following you.

Please leave an opinion or comment for this post.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s