A Cancer Story: The First Time I Cried

The big “C” word. It hits the young, the middle-aged, and the elderly. It hits men, women and children. You’ll find that crying isn’t for just babies..it’s healing and even therapeutic. Read how Michael’s ordeal brought him to the feet of Jesus, to release his worries.

Michael King

The first time I cried about the cancer was about a week after diagnosis. I had already seen the surgeon and the oncologist. I’d gotten the news, the plan, and the prognosis. I knew what the next year would look like . . . or so I thought.

But it was one morning on my way to work when the weight of the entire ordeal broke loose from its moorings and landed on my shoulders. I remember it like it just happened last week. I was doing forty-five down Lehman Road and those pesky thoughts of death wormed their way into my mind. I wasn’t afraid of dying, though. No, I know where I’m going, that’s not the problem. There’s no fear there. I was afraid for my family. I didn’t want my wife being a widow at 31 years old; I didn’t want my three daughters, just 9, 7…

View original post 224 more words

Please leave an opinion or comment for this post.

